January 30th

You Don’t Have to Stay On Top of Everything

“If you wish to improve, be content to appear clueless or stupid in extraneous matters – don’t wish to seem knowledgeable. And if some regard you as important, distrust yourself.” – Epictetus, Enchiridion, 13a

Prioritize. Celebrity gossip? Your competitor’s training schedule? The latest episode of GoT? All just clutter to your mind. If somebody exclaims “how have you not heard of this!”, simply answer back “because it’s of no importance to me.”

I like that in the text that follows, The Daily Stoic makes a point of saying there are still certain things you should keep up to date. Out of duty to the things that matter to you (e.g. family), you should be aware of the things that can affect them.

As a coach, I’ve definitely fallen to the trap of knowledge FOMO. I think it’s helped me (to a certain extent) become a better generalist, but it has also stretched me out thin. Somebody with more anxiety would be overwhelmed when they realize the vastness of information that is available, and the finite amount of time they can dedicate to absorbing all of it. I now feel I have a better grasp of what I need to focus on, and what I am OK with appearing less knowledgeable on. Arguably, I can only say this because I’ve been through the FOMO phase.

Finally, praise can make you forget that you don’t know. It can pull you back to the peak of Mt. Dunning-Kruger. Stay humble.


Not much in terms of training notes, besides “figure out how to properly call starts, and bring stopwatch”. Not my best day, for sure.

  • The spectrum of “converters”, as Dan would call it, is probably just another way of talking about somebody’s elastic qualities. Can it be improved? For sure. Probably easier to go from Shit to Suck, maybe even to Good, than to go from Good to Great. Genetics probably play too much of a role to reach Great. Also, gotta consider opportunity cost. Time is zero-sum.
  • Know what you can say, when you can say it, with who you can say it, and how to say it. Sounds so obvious, but we can always improve on this.
  • Simultaneously, foster mental resiliency. I should be aware of sensitive subjects, but if a single question can shatter somebody, there’s some work to be done here too.
  • On that note, something I’ve applied many times when coaching DB, and I can’t tell who’s at fault : Blame Everybody. Chances are, both need work anyways.
  • Stories are how we first learned things, but it doesn’t work anymore once we go Complex.
Leave a Reply

